Help selecting the right LCD/VFD display for my project

Take a load off and chat!

Moderators: Henry, Mods

Jose Hidalgo
LCD?

Help selecting the right LCD/VFD display for my project

Post by Jose Hidalgo »

Hi everybody,

I am in the process of building a high-end HTPC (mostly audio-based), but I'm quite new to LCD/VFD displays.

I want my Audio PC to work just like a CD player, with :
- 6 buttons (On-standby (PC), On-off (display), I<<, Play/Pause, >>I, Eject)
- A LCD/VFD display that will show real-time iTunes or foobar2000 information.

The problem is that I'd like a very large display in order to show artist / song / album / time elapsed (bargraph) without having to scroll horizontally in case of long titles. So I guess a 4x40 display would be fine.

This doesn't seem to let me much choice, since I only see two 4x40 displays : LK404-25 and MOP-AL404C-BYFY (or maybe a graphic display that would be long enough ? :D ).

Just FYI, the Audio PC would look approximately like this :

Here are my questions :
1/ Could you please make me understand the differences between LK404-25 and MOP-AL404C-BYFY ?
2/ What display would be best for my project ? (maybe you think that a graphic display would be better)
3/ I see that a VFD display is expected to arrive one day (VK404-25). What about it ?
4/ More specifically, what about graphic VFDs ? Will you sell them one day ?
5/ (most important question) How can I connect my 4 display-related buttons (On-off (display), I<<, Play/Pause, >>I) to the display, so that the display transmits the button information to the PC when a button is pressed ? (like if a keyboard key had been pressed for instance - that would be great). Is there some guide about it that I can read ?

Thanks in advance for your help. :wink:

Jose

Nick
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital

Re: Help selecting the right LCD/VFD display for my project

Post by Nick »

Jose Hidalgo wrote:Hi everybody,
Here are my questions :