Newbie Questions

LK/ELK/VK/PK/OK/MX/GLK/EGLK/GVK/GLT Series

Moderators: Henry, Mods

Punkychan
LCD?

Newbie Questions

Post by Punkychan »

Hello..a newbie here..
First of all I've got some (maybe stupid ot funny ) questions.My MX 422 is only on the way and seems that I can't wait to go head with my project, I'd like to know about connections of the LCD module.It's usb , so is it self powered ? or do I have to connect to some sort of power supply.I don't intend to connect any fans ot whatsoever, just that modules and maybe later would like to connect some LEDs as indicators.Can I connect those leds directly to the gpos or do I need a resisstor ?If I do have to connect the module to some kind of powers supply, where do I connect it ? The 12V 4 pin molex or the floppy power supply ? Sorry to ask this stupid question but I don't want to ' burn' my lcd...can't wait for it to arrive.Thanks.

Tyler
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital

Post by Tyler »

well as far as i know but dont quote me on this. your usb supplys yoru power form your computer. as for the otehr questions you will have to wait for henry miles or tom to reply to this post. hope thats helps
Matrix Orbital: Graphical Division

Tom
Matrix Orbital
Matrix Orbital

Post by Tom »

Good news for you!!! :D You don't have to use any external power unless you want to run the high power GPOs. The LCD is powered through the USB cable. Just make sure you installed your drivers properly, and it will work fine. As for your LEDs, there are headers specially made for LEDs, and it's as easy as just connecting them up without any resistors. You can mount the LEDs on your computer case too, so they make your case look even nicer. The LED's are found at the link below. If you have anymore questions or concerns, please feel free to ask.

http://www.matrixorbital.com/pages/acce ... sp?CatID=2

Punkychan
LCD?

Post by Punkychan »